shopping for underwear became a whole lot more comfy today …

Remember my post about the challenges of shopping for undergarments in Saudi Arabia? Well today, the Ministry of Labor carried out the Royal Decree to require that shops carrying “women’s necessities” (i.e. lingerie) employ women. I wasn’t sure I’d ever be able to witness such a sight as illustrated in these photographs from the main Riyadh newspaper:

ImageImage

ImageThe shopping experience in Saudi is now one step towards making it more comfortable for everyone – note even the availability of a Fitting Room right inside the shop!Image

4 responses to “shopping for underwear became a whole lot more comfy today …

  1. Oh my – Progress! I left too soon!

  2. I am living in Saudi too, how can you take the photos without problems?

    • These photos were from Alriyadh newspaper (I hyperlinked to the original online article). It’s definitely tricky taking photos in Saudi! If there are going to be people in the shot, best thing to do is just be upfront and ask them if it’s ok, as with anywhere you go. But it depends on the situation, so I just try to use common sense.

Leave a Reply

